Our School

 

 

 

Cape Breton Highlands Education Centre/Academy was opened in 2000 bringing together Strait Regional School Board students from L'école NDA, Northeast Margaree Elementary School, Pleasant Bay School and Margaree Forks District High School. The school is located in Terre Noire, Nova Scotia, on the beautiful Cabot Trail.  The students attending CBHEC/A travel from many different areas to attend the school - they come from communities as far away as Pleasant Bay, from Acadian communities such as Cap-le-Moine, Saint-Joseph-du-Moine, Grand-Étang, Point Cross, Chéticamp and Petit-Étang, and from all the different Margaree areas. CBHEC/A has a very diverse population! 

 

PROGRAMS:

French Immersion P-12

Options and Opportunities (O2) Youth Pathways (French and English)

English Programming P-12 (Community College and University Prep)

Cooperative Education programs in French and English, Grades 11-12

Play-based P-2 Programming

STAFF DIRECTORY:

Principal:

Angela MacKinnon-Poirier (angela.mackinnon@srce.ca)

Vice-Principal:

Andrew Mac Lean (andrew.maclean@srce.ca)

Community Based Learning:

Stacia Evans (stacia.evans@srce.ca)

James Parsons (james.parsons@srce.ca)

Lisa MacKinnon (lisa.mackinnon@srce.ca)

Learning Support:

Jason Deveaux (jason.deveaux@srce.ca)

David Ryan (davidn.ryan@srce.ca)

Carolyn MacDonald (carolyna.macdonald@srce.ca)

Debbie MacKay (debbie.mackay@srce.ca)

Comprehensive Guidance:

John MacKinnon (john.mackinnon@srce.ca)

Early Literacy Intervention:

Christina Cavanaugh French Immersion (christina.cavanaugh@srce.ca)

Mathematics Hybrid:

Ethna Gillis, English (ethna.gillis@srce.ca)

Christina Cavanaugh French Immersion (christina.cavanaugh@srce.ca)

School Secretary:

Christa Fortune (christa.fortune@srce.ca)

Custodial Staff:

Aubrey Cranton (Building Operator) (aubrey.cranton@srce.ca)

Rita Arsenault (Cleaner) (rita.arsenault@srce.ca)

Priscilla LeBlanc (Janitor) (priscilla.leblanc@srce.ca)

Heather LeBlanc (Cleaner) (heather.leblanc@srce.ca)

Wanda Fortune (wanda.fortune@srce.ca)

Milton Leblanc (milton.leblanc@srce.ca)

Bus Drivers:

John Carmichael (john.carmichael@srce.ca)

Waylon Fraser (waylon.fraser@srce.ca)

Lindsey Hart (lindsey.hart@srce.ca)

Fletcher Ingraham (fletcher.ingraham@srce.ca)

Jody IngrahamPhillips (jody.phillips@srce.ca)

Blair McDaniel (blair.mcdaniel@srce.ca)

Audrey LeBlanc (audrey.leblanc@srce.ca)

Ronnie Fraser Pleasant Bay School (ronnie.fraser@srce.ca)

Teachers/Teaching Assignments:

Renee Peters (Français-immersion Grade P-1F) (renee.peters@srce.ca)

Lindsay Chiasson (Music P-6, 10-12, Exploring Music 7-9) (lindsay.chiasson@srce.ca)

Andrew Clarey  (andrew.clarey@srce.ca)

Ashley Crowley Pleasant Bay School (English Programming Grades Primary, 2, 3, 4,5 & 6) (ashley.crowley@srce.ca)

Melissa MacKay-Hart Pleasant Bay School (melissa.mackay@srce.ca)

Jason Deveaux  (jason.deveaux@srce.ca)

Anna DeWolfe (Français-immersion 5-6) (anna.dewolfe@srce.ca)

Stacia Evans (stacia.evans@srce.ca)

Brendan Kennedy (brendan.kennedy@srce.ca)

Daniel LeBlanc  (daniel.leblanc@srce.ca)

Aurel LeLièvre (Physical Education) (aurel.lelievre@srce.ca)

Pauline LeLièvre (Physical Education) (pauline.lelievre@srce.ca)

Debbie MacKay (ELI/Resource) (debbie.mackay@srce.ca)

Barbara MacKinnon ( Grade 5-6E) (barbara.mackinnon@srce.ca)

Charlene MacKinnon (Français-immersion 1-2) (charlene.mackinnon@srce.ca)

Lisa MacKinnon (Français-immersion 7-12) (lisa.mackinnon@srce.ca)

Andrew MacLean (Vice Principal) (andrew.maclean@srce.ca)

Rochelle MacQuarrie (Grade 3-4E) (rochelle.macquarrie@srce.ca)

Sarah McDaniel (Français-immersion) (sarah.mcdaniel@srce.ca)

Bruce Miller (bruce.miller@srce.ca)

Myra Muise (Grade 2-3E) (myra.muise@srce.ca)

Carrie Leblanc (English Programming Grades P-1) (carrie.leblanc@srce.ca)

James Parsons (Production Technology) (james.parsons@srce.ca)

Matthew Parsons  (matthew.parsons@srce.ca)

Kristen MacKinnon (kristen.mackinnon@srce.ca)

David Ryan (YSF/Resource) (davidn.ryan@srce.ca)

TEACHER ASSISTANTS

Nadine Clark

Denise Deveau

Charline MacKay

Catherine MacNeil

Donna McDaniel

Natasha Romard

STUDENT COUNCIL EXECUTIVE:

 

SCHOOL ADVISORY COUNCIL (SAC) Cape Breton Highlands Education Centre/Academy (CBHECA)-Pleasant Bay School (PBS)

Christina Aucoin-Cavanaugh, Teacher CBHECA

Ashley Crowley, Teacher PBS

Sheila Deveau, Parent CBHECA

Angela MacKinnon-Poirier, Principal CBHECA, ADVISOR (angela.mackinnon@srce.ca)

Liam Deveau, Student CBHECA, VICE-CHAIR

Jody IngrahamPhillips, Bus Driver CBHECA

Sarah McDaniel, Teacher CBHECA

Jamie Taylor, Parent CBHECA, CHAIR, (jamie.taylor07@gmail.com)

Kevin MacKay (RCMP), Community Member (Must not have childeren registered at CBHECA or PBS and may not be employed by SRCE)

Andrew Mac Lean, VP CBHECA (andrew.maclean@srce.ca)

HOME AND SCHOOL ASSOCIATION

Nicole Bishop, Treasurer

Megan Brown, Chair & Secretary 

Board Policy Manual