Our School

 

 

 

Cape Breton Highlands Education Centre/Academy was opened in 2000 bringing together Strait Regional School Board students from L'école NDA, Northeast Margaree Elementary School, Pleasant Bay School and Margaree Forks District High School. The school is located in Terre Noire, Nova Scotia, on the beautiful Cabot Trail.  The students attending CBHEC/A travel from many different areas to attend the school - they come from communities as far away as Pleasant Bay, from Acadian communities such as Cap-le-Moine, Saint-Joseph-du-Moine, Grand-Étang, Point Cross, Chéticamp and Petit-Étang, and from all the different Margaree areas. CBHEC/A has a very diverse population! 

 

PROGRAMS:

French Immersion P-12

Options and Opportunities (O2) Youth Pathways (French and English)

English Programming P-12 (Community College and University Prep)

Cooperative Education programs in French and English, Grades 11-12

Play-based P-2 Programming

STAFF DIRECTORY:

Principal:

Angela MacKinnon-Poirier (angela.mackinnon@srce.ca)

Vice-principal:

Andrew Mac Lean (andrew.maclean@srce.ca)

Youth Pathways Team:

Stacia Evans (stacia.evans@srce.ca)

James Parsons (james.parsons@srce.ca)

Lisa MacKinnon (lisa.mackinnon@srce.ca)

Student Services:

Jason Deveaux (jason.deveaux@srce.ca)

David Ryan/ Carolyn MacDonald (carolyna.macdonald@srce.ca) (davidn.ryan@srce.ca)

Angela MacKinnon-Poirier (angela.mackinnon@srce.ca), Chair

Debbie MacKay (debbie.mackay@srce.ca)

Mellissa MacKay-Hart (mellissa.mackay@srce.ca)

Comprehensive Guidance:

Denis Cormier (denis.cormier@srce.ca)

Early Literacy Intervention:

Debbie MacKay (debbie.mackay@srce.ca)

Louise Desrochers French Immersion (louise.desrochers@srce.ca)

Mathematics Intervention and Mentors:

Ethna Gillis, English (ethna.gillis@srce.ca)

Louise Desrochers, French Immersion (louise.desrochers@srce.ca)

School Secretary:

Wilfridine Crowdis (wilfridine.crowdis@srce.ca)

Building Staff:

Aubrey Cranton (Building Operator) (aubrey.cranton@srce.ca)

Rita Arsenault (Cleaner) (rita.arsenault@srce.ca)

Priscilla LeBlanc (Janitor) (priscilla.leblanc@srce.ca)

Heather LeBlanc (Cleaner) (heather.leblanc@srce.ca)

Lindsey Hart (Janitor) (lindsey.hart@srce.ca)

Bus Drivers:

John Carmichael (john.carmichael@srce.ca)

Waylon Fraser (waylon.fraser@srce.ca)

Lindsey Hart (lindsey.hart@srce.ca)

Fletcher Ingraham (fletcher.ingraham@srce.ca)

Jody IngrahamPhillips (jody.phillips@srce.ca)

Brenda Timmons (brenda.timmons@srce.ca)

Audrey Spooney (audrey.spooney@srce.ca)

Ronnie Fraser Pleasant Bay School (ronnie.fraser@srce.ca)

Teachers/Teaching Assignments:

Christina Aucoin-Cavanaugh (Français-immersion Grade Primary) (christina.cavanaugh@srce.ca)

Lawrence Cameron (Music P-6, 10-12, Exploring Music 7-9) (lawrence.cameron@srce.ca)

Lindsay Chiasson (lindsay.chiasson@srce.ca)

Andrew Clarey  (andrew.clarey@srce.ca)

Ashley Crowley Pleasant Bay School (English Programming Grades Primary, 2, 3, 4) (ashley.crowley@srce.ca)

Jason Deveaux  (jason.deveaux@srce.ca)

Anna DeWolfe (Français-immersion 5-6) (anna.dewolfe@srce.ca)

Stacia Evans (stacia.evans@srce.ca)

Brendan Kennedy (Behavior Support) (brendan.kennedy@srce.ca)

Carrie LeBlanc (English Programming 4-5E) (carrie.leblanc@srce.ca)

Daniel LeBlanc  (daniel.leblanc@srce.ca)

Aurel LeLièvre (Physical Education) (aurel.lelievre@srce.ca)

Pauline LeLièvre (Physical Education)) (pauline.lelievre@srce.ca)

Debbie MacKay (ELI/Resource) (debbie.mackay@srce.ca)

Melissa MacKay-Hart (Resource) (melissa.mackay@srce.ca)

Barbara MacKinnon ( Grade 6-7) (barbara.mackinnon@srce.ca)

Charlene MacKinnon (Français-immersion 1-2) (charlene.mackinnon@srce.ca)

Lisa MacKinnon (Français-immersion 7-12) (lisa.mackinnon@srce.ca)

Andrew MacLean (Vice Principal) (andrew.maclean@srce.ca)

Sarah McDaniel (Français-immersion)(sarah.mcdaniel@srce.ca)

Bruce Miller (bruce.miller@srce.ca)

Marilyn Murphy (English Programming Grades P-1) (marilyn.murphy@srce.ca)

James Parsons (Production Technology) (james.parsons@srce.ca)

Matthew Parsons  (matthew.parsons@srce.ca)

Kristen Ross (kristen.ross@srce.ca)

David Ryan (YSF/Resource) (davidn.ryan@srce.ca)

Laura Ryan (Français-immersion 3-4F (laura.ryan@srce.ca)

Angela Stepaniak (English Progamming Grades 2-3) (angela.stepaniak@srce.ca)

TEACHER ASSISTANTS

Nadine Clark

Denise Deveau

Charline MacKay

Shawna MacLean

Donna McDaniel

STUDENT COUNCIL EXECUTIVE:

Oliva Hart, President

Broderick Murphy, Vice President

Hannah MacIntosh -Co-administrator

Lynn MacKinnon- Co-administrator

SCHOOL ADVISORY COUNCIL (SAC) Cape Breton Highlands Education Centre/Academy (CBHECA)-Pleasant Bay School (PBS)

Christina Aucoin-Cavanaugh, Teacher CBHECA

Ashley Crowley, Teacher PBS

Sheila Deveau, Parent CBHECA

Angela MacKinnon-Poirier, Principal CBHECA, ADVISOR (angela.mackinnon@srce.ca)

Olivia Hart, Student CBHECA, VICE-CHAIR

Jody IngrahamPhillips, Bus Driver CBHECA

Faith MacKinnon, Student CBHECA, SECRETARY

Sarah McDaniel, Teacher CBHECA

Jamie Taylor, Parent CBHECA, CHAIR, (jamie.taylor07@gmail.com)

Kevin MacKay (RCMP), Community Member (Must not have childeren registered at CBHECA or PBS and may not be employed by SRCE)

Andrew Mac Lean, VP CBHECA (andrew.maclean@srce.ca)

HOME AND SCHOOL ASSOCIATION

Nicole Bishop, Treasurer

Megan Brown, Chair

Shelley Ross, Secretary

Board Policy Manual